

Note - Navigational menus along with other non-content related elements have been removed for your convenience. Thank you for visiting us online.

## Offices up for Election in 2020

**Note:** This is a preliminary list that is subject to change as we are notified about vacancies and newly-created offices. Also, visit our website for an unofficial list of candidates once filing is underway.

Office	Term
U.S. President	4 yr. term
United States Senator	6 yr. term
John Cornyn	o yr. term
All 36 United States Representatives	2 yr. term
Railroad Commissioners	6 yr. term
Ryan Sitton	o y to
3 members of the Supreme Court	6 yr. term
Nathan L. Hecht, Place 1	o yr. tomi
Jeffrey S. Boyd, Place 7	
J. Brett Busby, Place 8	
3 members of the Court of Criminal Appeals	6 yr. term
Bert Richardson, Place 3	o yr. teim
Kevin Yeary, Place 4	
David Newell, Place 9	
Michael E. Keasler, Place 6 (unexpired term, 2 years remaining)	
8 Members, State Board of Education	4 yr. term
Georgina C. Perez, District 1	4 yr. tollii
Ken Mercer, District 5	
Donna Bahorich, District 6	
Barbara Cargill, District 8	
Keven Ellis, District 9	
Tom Maynard, District 10     And Maynard, District 444	
<ul> <li>Sue Melton-Malone, District 14</li> <li>Marty Rowley, District 15</li> </ul>	
9	
16 State Senators	4 yr. term
Bryan Hughes, District 1	
Brandon Creighton, District 4	
Carol Alvarado, District 6	

<ul> <li>Larry Taylor, District 11</li> <li>Jane Nelson, District 12</li> <li>Borris Miles, District 13</li> <li>Lois Kolkhorst, District 18</li> <li>Pete Flores, District 19</li> <li>Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa, District 20</li> <li>Judith Zaffirini, District 21</li> <li>Brian Birdwell, District 22</li> <li>Dawn Buckingham, District 24</li> <li>José Menéndez, District 26</li> <li>Eddie Lucio, Jr., District 27</li> <li>Charles Perry, District 28</li> <li>José Rodríguez, District 29</li> </ul>	
All 150 State Representatives	2 yr. term
<ul> <li>Chief Justice of Courts of Appeals</li> <li>Jeff Rose, 3rd Court of Appeals</li> <li>Sandee Bryan Marion, 4th Court of Appeals</li> <li>Brian Quinn, 7th Court of Appeals</li> <li>Ann Crawford McClure, 8th Court of Appeals</li> <li>Steve McKeithen, 9th Court of Appeals</li> <li>James T. Worthen, 12th Court of Appeals</li> <li>Kem Thompson Frost, 14th Court of Appeals</li> </ul>	6 yr. term
Various Court of Appeals Justices	6 yr. term
Various District Judges, Criminal District Judges	4 yr. term
Family District Judges	4 yr. term
District Attorneys	4 yr. term
Sheriff	4 yr. term
County Court at Law	4 yr. term
County Attorneys	4 yr. term
Tax Assessor-Collector	4 yr. term
County Commissioners	4 yr. term
Justices of the Peace (Place 1 designation only)a	4 yr. term
Constable	4 yr. term

a. Generally, the office of Justice of the Peace in Place 1 for a county is up for election in 2020. However, we recommend that you contact your county election official to confirm the place number.

**NOTE:** Incumbent office holders appear where listed. This is not a list of current candidates or those who have filed a candidate application for the office.

**NOTE:** For many years, article XVI, Section 65 of the Texas Constitution set out which county offices would be up for election. This language (setting up the staggering scheme) was omitted in 1999 in "clean-up" legislation. Our office requested an attorney general opinion, expressing our concern about the omitted staggering scheme. The attorney general opined that because the staggering scheme was removed, any newly-created offices would be on the next ballot for the full four-year term. See Texas Attorney General Opinion Number JC-0519 (2002). You will need to check your county records to see if your county created new offices since the 1999 constitutional change.

**NOTE:** Under Article V, Section 1-a of the Texas Constitution, certain judicial offices are subject to a mandatory retirement age of 75. This may lead some additional judicial offices being listed on the ballot for an unexpired term due to a mid-term vacancy.